About Us

Management Team

5b441159-a60e-4c17-a965-ca1ba055e916.jpeg b817e4fd-91d6-404b-a645-33a8a862a4c2.jpeg 0d083c56-7c18-4a46-b5ba-751ecff38951.jpeg DS2.png RVP2.png

The NDFF management team is led by Professor Alwyn Seeds, UCL, Director (above left, first row) together with the Director (Research), Professor Dimitra Simeonidou, Bristol (second left, first row); Professor Periklis Petropoulos, Southampton (third left, first row); Professor Richard Penty, Cambridge (fourth left, first row) and Dr David Salmon (first left, second row).

Responsibility for the management of NDFF rests with the Management Board, chaired by the Director, Professor Alwyn Seeds (UCL) and comprising the Director (Research), Professor Dimitra Simeonidou (Bristol) together with one member from University of Cambridge (Professor Richard Penty), one member from the University of Southampton (Professor Periklis Petropoulos) and one member from Janet (Dr David Salmon). Additional members may be added from other major dark fibre providers to NDFF, as agreements are concluded. The Board meets bi-monthly, with additional meetings as required and extensive use of teleconference technologies. The Board determines resource allocation policy, monitors and directs technical progress and develops and updates the NDFF risk register. Board Members have line management responsibility for management of NDFF staff at their respective sites in delivering NDFF services to users in accordance with Board decisions.

The Board is advised by an external Steering Committee, comprising six members drawn from the user community and from leading international researchers in the communications and dark fibre research field. The initial members are Dr Andrew Lord (BT), Dr Chris Chambers (BBC), Professor David Hutchison (University of Lancaster), Professor Ivan Andonovic (University of Strathclyde) and Professor Peter Clark (University of Edinburgh). A representative from EPSRC, Dr Matt Lodge has also been invited to join the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee meets each year once by telephone and once in person at the time of the Annual User Meeting, to review progress and plans, to advise on technical and management matters, including knowledge transfer and the Impact agenda, and to advise the Board on resource allocation and priorities in meeting user requests. The Steering Committee will also have the final role in deciding appeals from users not satisfied with the priorities set by the Management Board.

NDFF University Site Representatives Contact List



0dccdf5c-62cb-4b77-8b2d-95ed674747c5.jpegDr Reza Nejabati.







4d608eca-8609-4564-9d78-1d3c62781ea6.pngDr Adrian Wonfor.


Tel: (0)1223 748355




9f427c90-f485-4547-b99b-6144ef85ec4c.jpegProfessor Periklis Petropoulos.


Tel: (0) 23 8059 2014